Thanksgiving

Every year we Americans come together to give thanks for our freedoms…

Okay that is what Thanksgiving is supposed to be about, but I have noticed over the years, that people come together for food and football. Do not misunderstand me, I love food as much as the next person; football is not bad either. I just tend to wonder how many people come together and actually give thanks for our freedoms.

In my house, we go over to friends for Thanksgiving. My husband hangs out with his friend, I hangout with my friend, and my kids either watch TV or play games (They do talk with us as well at times but mostly do there own thing). The time leading up to Thanksgiving my oldest talks about how much food there is going to be. I talk with my friend about everything that we are making. My husband freaks a little about making sure everything is ready for us to go over there. My youngest simply asks if he can bring his Kindle and DS. But rarely is anything said about giving thanks for why we have this day. Has the day just been brought down to simply eating, football, and shopping, and trust me you do not want to get me started on the shopping? I hope not.

With all that said, I am guilty of not giving thanks as well. So i would like to thank the past for fighting for my freedoms now. I would also like to thank my friends and family for always being there for me. I would also like to thank my friends from other parts of the world that do not have our Thanksgiving (an American holiday) for allowing me to post and become excited for this holiday. My goal for next year is to remember that Thanksgiving is not about food, football, and for some shopping, but for giving thanks. And for everyone who already remembers this, Thank you for being you and keeping the true meaning of Thanksgiving alive.

That is my little post about Thanksgiving. Enjoy your day and if you are shopping, this being the day after Thanksgiving also known as Black Friday, remember to smile and be happy for everything you are able to buy and for the people who had to work so you could shop.

Enjoy your day and the rest of the holiday season!

Heidi

Leave a Reply

