Home Depot Workshop for kids … Fun!!

Yesterday was my son’s and I day to spend together. Okay, Saturdays we always spend the morning together. And I have to say, I love it!!! I really do. You see my boys are 13 and 10 and I know I do not have a lot of time to where they are going to want to spend a Saturday morning with their mom. I am even mostly okay with it. So for now, YAY! they want to spend it with me.

Now back to what this outing was about to begin with. 😀

Yesterday, the first Saturday of the month, I took my boys to the Home Depot craft for kids. Home Depot does this every first Saturday of the month, and sometimes throughout the month as well. This month, November of 2015, since it was right around Veterans day, Home Depot was doing a Fighter Jet.

These crafts are not hard for the kids to put together. They are made to be easy. This way any kid, for the most part can participate. Since my kids have been doing this for so long, they even help other kids with tips at times. Plus Home Depot has employees there to help any of the kids get their projects together if needed.

IMG_5140

After you put your craft, this week a Fighter Jet, you have the option to paint it or add the stickers they give you for the project. I had one son who had to paint his and one son they just wanted to take it home. I just love how my boys are different. well my youngest, he wanted to paint his. Mind you when he put it together, he hit the wood while hammering in a nail and broke a little piece off the top that looked like the bubble of a Fighter Jet. So when he was painting it, he said it was in an accident and that is why is did not pain that part. He is so funny.

So the Home Depot craft is open for anyone up to the age of 12. But they do not discourage older kinds from doing the craft. My oldest is 13 and he still loves to do them. The employees allow him to do the craft and get the pin that goes along with the craft. Every craft has a pin and a completion certificate. My kids have over 25 pins now. Once you get 10 you get a special pin and when you get to 25, you get a special pin. Someone said you get one at 50 as well, but I do not know if that is true of not.

Needless to say, if you have young ones who like to build things, this is the place to go. You can look on their website, put in your zip code and see where one is by you. They do give you the option to register before the event, that is to make sure they have enough kits, but even if you do not register, you can still just show up. As I said, my kids love it, and my friends kids love it, and she has two girls. So these projects are great for girls and boys.

Have a great time and if you go to one, let me know how you like it!

Heidi

Leave a Reply

